Hurricane #1

  • Name:   Hurricane #1


Hurricane #1 are an English rock band, formed in Oxford in 1996. The band were formed by former Ride guitarist Andy Bell, along with vocalist / guitarist Alex Lowe, bassist Will Pepper and drummer  Gareth “Gaz” Farmer. After releasing two albums,  Hurricane #1 (1997) and Only The Strongest Will Survive (1999), the band broke-up. Bell went to join Gay Dad and then eventually Oasis, while Lowe ventured into a solo career. Fronted by Lowe, the band reformed in 2014 and released their third album, Find What You Love and Let It Kill You, in November 2015.

Formation, Hurricane No. 1 and Only the Strongest Will Survive (1996–99)

Wishing to perform the later-day sound of his former band Ride, vocalist/guitarist Andy Bell formed Hurricane No. 1. Signed to Creation Records (along with fellow bands such as Oasis, The Jesus and Mary Chain and Primal Scream) they released their debut album in 1997, entitled Hurricane #1. This included their first single, “Step Into My World”, which reached number 29 in the UK Singles Chart (and a Paul Oakenfold Remix of which reached number 19 in 1997), and other less successful singles “Just Another Illusion” and “Chain Reaction”.

In 1999, follow-up album Only The Strongest Will Survive spawned the band’s other highest charting single, also called “Only the Strongest Will Survive”. The song reached number 19 in 1998.

Break up (1999–2014)[

In 1999, Bell parted ways with Hurricane No. 1, joining Gay Dad on guitar.  Shortly after joining Gay Dad, Bell split from the band to become the bass player for Oasis. In 2004, a double disc compilation of their songs was released, entitled Step Into My World.

Former Hurricane No. 1 vocalist / guitarist, Lowe has pursued a solo career, and has released three albums to date. In 2007, Lowe announced a new project called Garage Flowers, and a single, “Where To Begin”, was released via iTunes. In 2013, Lowe formed his project band called Gun Club Cemetery, and already released the self-titled debut album in the same year.

Reformation (2014–present)

In November 2014, it was announced that Hurricane No. 1 had reunited without Bell, Farmer, and Pepper.  The line-up, fronted by Lowe, featured the Mariani brother’s, Carlo and Lucas Mariani on guitar and bass respectively, and Chris Campbell on drums.  The band’s third album, Find What You Love and Let It Kill You, was released on 26 November 2015 through German-based label Tapete.  Bell features “Think of the Sunshine”. Lowe wrote the album while he was undergoing treatment for cancer in hospital. Lowe explained that “When you are wired up to chemo and radio therapy, the last thing you want to do is wallow in it and feel sorry for yourself so I had the idea that the album should be happy and not too dark.”

Melodic Rainbows, the band’s fourth album, was released on 12 October 2016 in Japan. The album will be released in the UK in November 2017.  The band are set to play Beano on the Sea festival in September and the Shiine On Weekender in November.  After Melodic Rainbows had released, the bass player Lucas Mariani decided to quit from the band, and finally replaced by Chris Mullin, later Mullin left the band, and replaced again by former  The Seahorses’ bassist Stuart Fletcher in October 2018.

The band are set to embark on a tour in early 2018 and will also be releasing another album. They are releasing a single via download every month from September 2017 until some time in 2018.


Studio albums



  • Alex Lowe: lead vocals, guitar (1996-1999, 2014-present)

  • Carlo Mariani: guitar (2014-present)

  • Stuart Fletcher: bass (2018-present)

  • Chris Campbell: drums (2014-present)


  • Andy Bell: guitar, vocals, keyboards (1996-1999)

  • Will Pepper: bass (1996-1999)

  • Gareth “Gaz” Farmer: drums(1996-1999)

  • Lucas Mariani: bass(2014-2016)

  • Chris Mullin: bass (2016-2018)

Find us on the social media links below: